Tags

, , , , , ,

Hot days and ice-blocks. Like a match made in heaven, don’t you think? Today I had a lemon flavored icy-pole that I’d made using water from a tap in my kitchen. I know, I really do know, how lucky I am to have clean water in my kitchen. And bathroom. And laundry. And garden.

When I travel to Uganda, I am not allowed to drink the tap water- only the bottled water is safe for drinking. But even then, I am lucky to have bottled water available to me.

Did you know that nearly 1 billion people don’t have access to clean, safe drinking water? On hot days they can’t even have a glass of water to cool them down. In fact, if they want water, they often have to walk far distances for it. And the water they do get might kill them.

So, I would like to celebrate the fact that I have drinking water in my house by helping someone else have safe water available to them. That’s why I’m fundraising for Charity: Water this month. I’d like to raise $100 which will provide 5 people with access to safe water.

Can you chip in? Even a couple of dollars will help- 100% of the money raised goes directly to the water project and in 18 months, we’ll get to see the actual project!

My question for today is this; do you like ice in your drink? I’ll happily chew my way through an ice-block but much prefer my drinks to be ice free. How about you?

