Tags

, , , , , , ,

When we did the grocery shopping last week, bananas were on special and as a result, yesterday we had ten very brown bananas in the fruit bowl. So I decided to bake a banana cake, well two, and they turned out so well. It was a little difficult fitting ten bananas, 1 tub of butter, 1 cup of milk, 2 cups of sugar and 4 cups of flour into one mixing bowl, and my electric beaters didn’t like it very much… but it worked out in the end!

So now I’ve filled our freezer with iced and un-iced banana cake, and there’s extra in the fridge. We ate it hot out of the oven for dessert yesterday, and I had some with butter for breakfast and then an iced piece again for desert tonight. Lucky it freezes so well that it doesn’t have to be eaten at once, I don’t think I’d eat bananas again if that were the case!

What do you do with bananas that are past their prime?

