Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I love the smell of coffee, but I can’t stand the taste. Yesterday morning while waiting to do my timetable for uni, I was reading a blog post (by The Forage) about natural dyes and clicking through various YouTube videos and I was inspired to dye one of my white cotton skirts. I don’t have a backyard full of great botanicals that I could use, so I tried a coffee and tea dye instead.

I brewed a really strong pot of coffee and added a bunch of tea bags for extra colour. It worked fairly well, not as dark as I’d like, but I think that was because I didn’t leave it to sit long enough, and I rinsed it too soon. I’m going to do it again on the same skirt later this week to get the colour a bit darker, but I’m really happy with it so far.

The only unfortunate thing was that the skirt was the only white item of clothing I own, so there was nothing else that I could try dying! Have you used natural products to dye clothes before? I’ve also used beetroot juice, but that was mostly an accident I had to cover-up!

