Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Riding home tonight I was nearly hit by a car. I wasn’t because another car honked long and loud to both warn me and chastise the driver of the car that nearly hit me. The the horn honking driver called out to the other driver as I rode past, “you nearly hit that cyclist!” and I felt like turning back and thanking her.

I slowed my bike because of that horn and managed to stop just before the car cut through my lane. For that alone I’m very grateful. But for the comment? Icing on the cake. Because when cars stick up for cyclists, good things are happening on our roads.

When the slogan be fair, share the road becomes a practical application of sharing the road and sharing the safety of road users, well, everyone benefits. Here’s to road users who care about other road users; cars, trucks, trams and cyclists alike.

