Tags

, , , , , , , ,

No, not dates with people, I haven’t been on a date in years! I’m grateful for dates the dried palm fruit. I’ve been nervous of using them in cooking before, but I finally bought some yesterday and made chocolate date balls tonight. They were so easy to make! And they tasted pretty good too. Here’s the rough recipe I used, if you’re interested in trying dates this way for yourself.

1 cup pitted dates
1/4 cup desiccated coconut
1 tsp vanilla essence
3 tbsp cocoa powder

Blend all ingredients until dates are finely chopped and everything is well combined. Roll into balls.

You can either eat them like that or roll them in coconut or cocoa powder to make them like truffles. Now I’m looking forward to experimenting more with additions to the chocolate balls like nuts, flax seed meal, LSA, chia seeds, cacao nibs and other dried fruit, but tonight, I didn’t have any of those things on hand and they worked out just fine anyway!

I’m going to make some more tomorrow with cashews, flax seed meal and a handful of cacao nibs then shape them into bars. I figure they’ll be a great snack in between classes and lectures.

Have you ever cooked/baked/blended with dates before? What did you make?

